by H.W. Wilson
located in Reference
at call number PN1621 .P53
Play Index is now ONLINE!
From the publisher:
Find the perfect production for any purpose, with entries for plays published individually or in collections. Turn to this resource for listings of all kinds of plays written in or translated into English, from classic drama to radio and television plays to puppet performances.
Teachers, students, drama coaches, theater groups, directors, performers, playwrights, and researchers will find Play Index a valuable tool.
Find Plays with Ease!
Search a convenient single-alphabet index for authors, title, subjects (sisters, culture conflict, marriage, Christmas); styles (symbolism, experimental theater, expressionism); genre (comedy, melodrama, satire, musical); and places (California, Japan, Paris, Western U.S.)
Find Plays to Match Your Production Resources
Play Index’s Cast Analysis Index helps you locate plays specifically by type of cast (male, female, mixed, etc.) number of players and extras (for example, 6 characters and extras: 5 men, 1 woman, and extras). Notes in this feature indicate the number of sets, as well as exterior or interior scenes.
Find Bibliographic Information
For plays published separately, entries list the publisher, date, pagination, ISBN, and LC number. For plays in collections, entries in the List of Collections note the collection in which the play appears and provides full publication information.
Find the Perfect Script for Your Resources
Descriptive annotation that summarizes the plot or dramatic action
Number of acts and scenes
Size of cast
Gender of cast members
Number of sets
Dancing or music requirements
Symbols identify plays suitable for children and young people
Playscripts are located in Room 200 in the Library.
As you enter the front of the Library, Room 200 is through the double-glass doors to the right. Once inside Room 200, the playscripts are shelved along the wall to the right.
Playscripts are acquired from various publishers, but the majority of the collection is purchased from Samuel French, Inc. and Dramatists Play Service. Play lists, sorted by authors and titles, are located near the playscripts as well as publisher's catalogs, which contain descriptions of many of the plays the Library owns.
Students may use the playscripts in the Library or they may check them out. Playscripts check out for three days and are due back by 4 P.M. on the third day.
Anthologies and other important books related to drama and theater can be found in the Library's main collections. Perform basic searches in the Library's catalog by using the search box on this page, or perform more advanced searches.
Click below for lists of plays the Library owns: