Skip to main content

Statistical Information for the Social Sciences

Librarian

Susan Strickland's picture
Susan Strickland
Contact:
936-294-3128
strickland@shsu.edu

Ask a Librarian

 

lib_ref@shsu.edu

TEXT 936-229-3764

CALL 936-294-1614 or
1-866-NGL-INFO (645-4636)

Purpose

Many resources exist that contain discipline specific statistical information.  The resources listed on these pages are among the most general for the social sciences. 

 

This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources related to statistical information for the social sciences owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.

Reference Books

The following books are located in the Reference Department on the Library's 2nd floor.  They cannot be checked out.

Atlas of Global Development.
G1046 .G1W6
Includes population, economic, social, and environmental indicators and statistics.

The Sage Dictionary of Statistics: a Practical Resource for Students in the Social Sciences.
HA17 .C72 2004
Includes social science statistical methods.

The Atlas of the real World: Mapping the Way We Live.
G1046 .E1 D7 2008
This atlas provides information about population, commercial and human geography.

International Historical Statistsics, Americas, 1750 - 2005.
HA175 .M55 2003

International Historical Statistics, Europe, 1750 - 2005.
HA1107 .M5 2007 (on order)
Historical statistics of Europe

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics.
HA29 .S2363 2007 3 volumes
Provides information about statistical and research methodology.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA202 .U5. 
Most current in Reference.  Older editions in the MAIN collection on the 4th floor.

Contains statistics about many aspects of the United States.

World Almanac and Book of Facts
AY67 .N5 W7 2010

Contains statistical and descriptive information about various aspects of the world.

 

Electronic Books

The following can be accessed by following the links below or by searching the library catalog.

Search Reference Universe

Reference Universe logo

Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.

 

More Search Options

 

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books and other items in SamCat, the library catalog.


 

More Search Options

 

Google Books

Google Book Search   

 


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System