Skip to main content

SHSU Special Collections Policies and Procedures

SHSU Special Collections Collection Development Policy and Donor Form

Collection Development Policy–SHSUSpecial Collections

Collecting goals listed in the order of priority:

  1. Manuscript collections and supporting academic material documenting the history of Walker County, Huntsville, and the surrounding area.

  2. Local history in the form of county and town histories of East/Central Texas.

Pursue local history materials and manuscript collections documenting the following counties: Freestone, Anderson, Leon, Houston, Madison, Trinity, Grimes, Walker, San Jacinto, Polk, Tyler, and Montgomery.

      3. Manuscript collections and supporting academic material documenting the history of criminal justice in Texas.

      4. Small press/ magazine collections created in Texas or related to the Wild Dog Magazine (1963-1966).

      5. While we have a substantial collections of rare books, civil war history, and various author collections (H.G. Wells, Gertrude Stein, Mark Twain, etc.), these collections will not be actively built.

NOTES: It is our goal to collect rare or unique documentation of the region of East Texas for which we are the repository of record. We will pursue a renewed collecting focus on manuscript collections (collections of personal, family, or professional papers) that provide historically valuable and potentially unique sources for research.
 


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System