SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services

This is intended as an introductory guide to help students of SHSU -- The Woodlands Center best utilize Newton Gresham Library's resources and services.

Introduction

Newton Gresham Library subscribes to 200+ electronic databases containingover 100,000 scholarly journals, e-books, newspapers, etc. Much of the full-text is available online, and those that aren't can often be acquired through Interlibrary Loan. See below for a list of database that are great places to get started with your research.

Engine Orange

Engine Orange logo

Find books, articles, films, and MORE in the library catalog and selected databases.



 

General Research Databases for Getting Started


Academic Search Complete:

 

Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.

 

 

Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of over 1,000 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

OmniFile Full Text Mega:

 

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Subject-Specific Databases

Business

Business Source Complete:

 

Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.

 

Company profiles on U.S. and international companies, some with SWOT analysis and industry rankings. U.S. Industry profiles by NAICS and SIC codes. Articles from scholarly journals, trade journals, and business and news magazines.

Education

Education Source:

 

International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center):

 

This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. There are several versions of the ERIC database available from the library's website; all provide links to full-text ERIC documents available on the EDRS website, E*Subscribe. E*Subscribe contains about 80% of the ERIC documents available since 1993. The library also maintains the ERIC Document collection on microfiche (1966 to present).

Psychology

PsycARTICLES:

 

Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA); this database is a source for full-text peer reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from 77 journals published by "APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®."

PsycINFO:

 

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Criminal Justice/Legal

Criminal Justice Abstracts:

 

Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.

 

Provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.

Health and Kinesiology

CINAHL:

 

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) indexes 4175 nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes full-text for more than 750 journals.


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System