Skip to main content

Engine Orange: What It Is & How It Can Help You

This guide will explain what the "Engine Orange" search tool is and how you can make the most of it.

What Engine Orange Is

Before Engine Orange, if you wanted to find a variety of sources on a topic, you would need to search the library catalog for books and several different databases for articles and other documents. If you wanted to find videos about your topic, you would need to search

Engine Orange is a powerful yet simple tool which allows you to perform JUST ONE search that finds books, articles, films, and much more from the library's catalog and selected databases.

 

With Engine Orange, you can discover:

  • Content owned by the SHSU Library:
    • Books
    • E-books
    • Government documents, available online or in print
    • Online videos
    • Physical media including DVDs, videotapes, CDs, etc.
    • Full-text articles available online
    • Citations of articles, reports, and other documents available in print
  • Books and citations of government documents, articles, reports, and other documents which are not owned by the SHSU Library, but which could be requested on Interlibrary Loan.

Behind the scenes: The technology behind Engine Orange is a product called EBSCO Discovery Service, provided by EBSCO, the vendor who also provides many of the library's electronic databases. "Engine Orange" is our local branding for their product.

What Engine Orange Is NOT

Engine Orange is NOT a 100% comprehensive search of ALL resources that are available from the Newton Gresham Library. We do subscribe to some databases which are not compatible with the technology behind Engine Orange.

Depending on the topic you are researching--especially if it is high-level research on a very specialized topic--you may also want to search individual databases in your subject area.

If you are wondering which databases in your subject are not included in Engine Orange, just consult the list of "What Engine Orange Searches," included below. More databases are periodically integrated into the technology behind Engine Orange, so if your favorite database is not included yet, it might be one day.

Who Can Use Engine Orange

All authorized students, faculty, and staff who possess an SHSU computer account may search Engine Orange and access books, articles, and documents owned by the library. You will need to log into Engine Orange with your SHSU username and password.

What Does Engine Orange Search?

Although Engine Orange is not a comprehensive search of all library resources, it does simultaneously search a wide array of SHSU's electronic databases, as well as a number of publicly available digital collections. Engine Orange includes some full-text databases as well as some indexes which do not include full text.

You can view all SHSU databases and search them individually in our Databases A-Z list.


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System