Skip to main content

Art Research Guide

This annotated guide to selected art reference sources in the Newton Gresham Library covers painting, drawing, graphic arts, and sculpture.

Directories

American Art Directory.  Berkeley Heights:  National Register, [biennial].  REF N 50 .A54

The standard North American art directory, which contains listings for U.S. and Canadian organizations, museums, libraries, associations, and art schools; major museums and art schools abroad; state art councils; state directors and supervisors of art education; art periodicals; newspaper art editors and critics; scholarships and fellowships; open exhibitions; and traveling exhibition booking  agencies.  Indexes for subjects, personnel, and organizations are provided.

Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market:  Where & How to Sell Your Illustrations, Fine Art, Graphic Design & Cartoons.  Cincinnati:  Writer's Digest Books, [annual].  REF N 8600 .A76

An annotated guide to over 1,500 art markets, includng galleries; magazines; book publishers; greeting cards, gifts and products; advertising design and related markets; record labels; and art fairs.

The Europa World of Learning.  London:  Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, [annual].  REF AS 2 .W6

Provides basic information on 3,000 museums and art galleries worldwide.

Museums of the World, 17th ed.  2 vol.  Berlin; New York:  De Gruyter/Saur, 2010.  REF AM 1 .M76 2010

Provides basic information on nearly 50,000 museums and museum associations in over 200 countries.

Official Museum Directory, 41st ed.  Berkeley Heights:  National Register, 2011.  REF AM 11 .M8 2011

Provides basic infomation on over 13,000 museums, houses/sites, planetariums, science-technology centers, art galleries/centers, aquariums, and zoological parks in the United States.


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System