Skip to main content

Art Research Guide

This annotated guide to selected art reference sources in the Newton Gresham Library covers painting, drawing, graphic arts, and sculpture.

  Indexes and Abstracts

Art Index.  Brooklyn, N.Y.:  H.W. Wilson, 1928-1997.  REF NX 1 .A77.

Indexes over 200 English language periodicals and annuals, as well as selected European publications, on subjects that include archaeology, architecture, art history, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, painting, performance art, photography, sculpture, television, and video.  Available online as Wilson Art Full Text, which provides indexing 1984-date, abstracting 1994-date, and full text 1997-date. 

 

ARTbibliographies Modern.  Santa Barbara, Calif.:  ABC-Clio, 1969-2001.  REF NX 449.5 .L64.

Indexes and abstracts English and foreign language periodicals, books, exhibition catalogues, dissertations, and Festschriften covering a similar range of subjects to Art Index.  Beginning with volume 19 (1988), coverage is limitedCwith the exception of photographyCto post-1900 subjects.  Previous volumes, however, cover subjects extending back to 1800.

 

Bibliography of the History of Art:  BHA.  Santa Monica, Calif.:  Getty Art History Information Center, 1975-2001.  REF N 7510 .R160.

This index provides abstracts for books, periodical articles, conference proceedings, Festschriften and other collected essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations, and microform publications on European art from late Antiquity to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present. 


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System