Skip to main content

Art Research Guide

This annotated guide to selected art reference sources in the Newton Gresham Library covers painting, drawing, graphic arts, and sculpture.

How To: Write & Research on Art

Barnet, Sylvan.  A Short Guide to Writing About Art, 10th ed.  Upper Saddle River:  Pearson Prentice Hall, 2011.

Provides guidance on writing art history essays and exhibition reviews, as well as how to conduct basic art history research.

Ehresmann, Donald L.  Fine Arts:  A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks, 3rd ed.  Littleton:  Libraries Unlimited, 1990.  REF N 5300 .E46 1990

An annotated bibliography of books that treat at least two of the following subjects: architecture, sculpture, and painting.  Part I covers reference works; Part II covers historical works and handbooks.

Freitag, Wolfgang M.  Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists, 2nd ed.  New York:  Garland, 1997.  REF N 40 .F73 1997

Freitag lists books, catalogues raisonnés, exhibition catalogues, bibliographies, and dissertations on 15,000 artists, architects, sculptors, and photographers.

Jones, Lois Swan.  Art Information and the Internet:  How to Find It, How to Use It.  Phoenix:  Oryx, 1999.  REF N 59 .J66 1999

A practical and well-organized guide for negotiating the complexities of art history research.  The emphasis is on electronic resources (online catalogs, periodical indexes, Internet, etc.), although Jones covers print material as well.

 ________.   Art Research Methods and Sources:  A Guide to Finding Art Information.  Dubuque:  Kendall/Hunt, 1984.  REF N 85 .J64 1984

Jones' earlier book provides valuable guidance on how to conduct library research in art history and covers printed resources in more detail than her later book (see preceding entry).

Marmor, Max and Alex Ross.  Guide to the Literature of Art History 2.  Chicago:  American Library Association, 2005.  REF N 380 .A75 2005

The standard annotated research guide to art history, which contains entries on painting, sculpture, prints, drawings, architecture, photography, decorative and applied arts, patronage and collecting, cultural heritage, and preservation law and policy.  All historical periods and geographical areas are represented.  The guide covers books, monographic series, and periodicals.

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books and other items in SamCat, the library catalog.


 

More Search Options

 

Subject Headings / Browse Collection

Books on the Fine Arts have call numbers starting with the letter N.

  • N - Visual arts
  • NA - Architecture
  • NB - Sculpture
  • NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • ND - Painting
  • NE - Print media
  • NK - Decorative arts
  • NX - Arts in general

You can find the call number range for more detailed subjects by consulting the Library of Congress Classification Outline. For instance, books on mural painting are in ND2550-ND2733, while books on sculptures made with special materials are in NB1203-NB1270.


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System