Skip to main content

Biographical Information: Researching People

Find biographical information about a person, living or dead, recent or historical, in many different fields.

Librarian

Erin Owens's picture
Erin Owens
Contact:
936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
Room 200C, 2nd floor, Library (NGL)

Ask a Librarian

 

lib_ref@shsu.edu

TEXT 936-229-3764

CALL 936-294-1614 or
1-866-NGL-INFO (645-4636)

Purpose

From a 17th century author to the latest Hollywood starlet, biographical sources contain information about a wide variety of people. Before you start looking for biographical information, it may help to consider the person's age, gender, ethnicity, nationality, and occupation.

 

This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this subject or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.

General Biography of Prominent People

American National Biography - E176 .A43 1999, Reference - Read Online

Chambers Biographical Dictionary [BCE to 1990s] - CT103 .C4 1997, Reference

Current Biography - CT100 .C8, Reference

Dictionary of American Biography - E176 .D56, Reference

Merriam Webster’s Biographical Dictionary - CT103 .M47 1995, Reference

The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - E176 .N28, Reference

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography [Britain] - DA28 .O95 2004, Reference - Read Online

Who Was Who in America [1607-1990s] - E176 .W64, Reference

Who’s Who, an Annual Biographical Dictionary [Britain] - DA28 .W6, Reference

Who’s Who in America - E663 .W56, Reference

Who’s Who of American Women - CT3260 .W5, Reference

Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia - HQ1115 .W6 1999, Reference - Read Online

Biographies in Art & Architecture

A Biographical Dictionary of Artists - N40 .B53 1994, Reference 

Contemporary Artists - N6490 .C6567, Reference

Dictionary of Women Artists - N8354 .D53 1997, Reference

International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture - NA40 .I48 1993, Reference

Who’s Who in American Art - N6536 .W5, Reference
Artists, collectors, critics, curators, and dealers in U.S., Canada, and Mexico.

Biographies in Business, Labor, & Industry

Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders - HC102.5 .A2 I53 1983, Reference

Business Leader Profiles for Students - HD38.25 .U6 B8 1999, Reference

Contemporary American Business Leaders - HC102.5 .A2 I 534 1990, Reference

Who’s Who in Finance and Business - HF3023 .A3W5, Reference

Biographies in Education & Social Sciences

American Educators’ Encyclopedia - LB15 .D37 1991, Reference

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology - BF109.A1 B56 1997, Reference

Directory of American Scholars - LA2311 .C32, Reference
U.S. and Canadian scholars, current through the 1990s.

National Faculty Directory - L901 .N34 2004, Reference
Faculty members from U.S. and Canadian universities.

Biographies of Authors / Writers

American Authors, 1600-1900 - PS21 .K8, Reference

Contemporary Authors - Z1224 .C6, Reference - Read Online
Writers from a wide range of media.

Contemporary Poets - PR603 .C6 2001, Reference - Read Online
English-language poets alive at time of publication.

Dictionary of Literary Biography - PS129. D5, Reference - Read Online
Comprehensive treatment of American and British authors in all literary areas.

European Authors, 1000-1900 - PN451 .K8, Reference

Biographies in Politics, Law, & Criminal Justice

American Political Leaders, 1789-2009 - E176 .A513 2010, Reference

American Political Scientists: A Dictionary - JA61 .A525 2002, Reference

American Presidents - E176.1 .A6563 2006, Reference
Includes sidebars on First Ladies and Vice Presidents.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-2005 - JK1010 .U5 1989, Reference - Read Online

Cops, Crooks, and Criminologists - HV7911 .A1 A94 2000, Reference
World’s most well-known “criminals and crime-stoppers”, historical and contemporary.

Encyclopedia of World Crime - HV6017 .E54 1989, Reference
Famous criminals and law enforcement officers.

First Ladies: A Biographical Dictionary - E176.2 .S36 2001, Reference

Great American Judges: An Encyclopedia - KF8775 .A68 G64 2003, Reference

Great American Lawyers: An Encyclopedia - KF353 .G74 2001, Reference

The Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary - KF8744 .S859 1994, Reference

Search Reference Universe

Reference Universe logo

Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.

 

More Search Options

 

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books and other items in SamCat, the library catalog.


 

More Search Options

 

Military Biographies

American Military Leaders: from Colonial Times to Present - E181 .F84 1999, Reference

Encyclopedia of American War Heroes - E181 .N88 2002, Reference

Harper Encyclopedia of Military Biography - U51 .D87 1992, Reference 

Multicultural Biographies

American Indian Biographies - E98 .A46 2005, Reference - Read Online

Distinguished Asian Americans - E184 .O6 D57 1999, Reference - Read Online

Notable Black American Men - E185 .86 .N68 1998, Reference

Notable Black American Women - E185.96 .N68 1992, Reference

Notable Hispanic American Women - E184 .S75 N68 1993, Reference

Notable Latino Americans - E184 .S75 M435 1997, Reference - Read Online

Notable Native Americans - E89 .N67 1995, Reference

Biographies in the Performing Arts

Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians - ML105 .B16 2001, Reference

International Dictionary of Theatre - PN2035 .I49 1992, Reference
Volume 2 covers well-known playwrights. Volume 3 covers actors, directors, and designers.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers - PN1997.8 .I58 2000, Reference - Read Online
Volume 2 covers film directors, volume 3 actors and actresses, and volume 4 film writers and production artists.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians - ML100 .N48, Reference - Read Online

The Rock Who’s Who - ML102 .R6 H5 1996, Reference

Women Composers and Songwriters: A Concise Biographical Dictionary - ML105 .C593 1996, Reference - Read Online

Biographies in Religion

The Book of Saints: A Comprehensive Biographical Dictionary - BX4655.3 .B66 2002, Reference
Saints recognized by the Roman Catholic Church.

Oxford Dictionary of Popes - BX955.2 .K45 1996, Reference
Popes and antipopes from St. Peter to John Paul II.

Oxford Dictionary of Saints - Read Online

Religious Leaders of America - BL72 .M458 1999, Reference
U.S. and Canadian religious leaders, 1865 through the 20th century.

Who’s Who of World Religions - BL72 .W54 1992, Reference
Influential religious figures in many faiths, from BCE through the 20th century.

Biographies in Science

American Men and Women of Science - Q141 .A471 2007, Reference
Living scientists of the U.S. and Canada.

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists - Q141 .B528 2000, Reference

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science - Q141 .B5285 2000, Reference - Read Online

Encyclopedia of World Scientists - Q141 .O25 2001, Reference

Biographical Memoirs - Q141 .N2, Reference - Read Online
Deceased members of the (U.S.) National Academy of Sciences.


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System