Skip to main content

Mathematics Research Guide

Resources related to math and mathematical statistics.

Librarian

Molly Thompson's picture
Molly Thompson
Contact:
936-294-3503
mthompson@shsu.edu

Historical Math Monographs from Cornell University

Guides and Handbooks

Guides, handbooks and manuals are simple yet comprehensive sources of information on a topic within a discipline.

Guide to information sources in mathematics and statistics
QA41.7 .T83 2004      REFERENCE

Handbook of mathematical formulas and integrals
QA47 .J38 2008         MAIN

Handbook of mathematical functions, with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables
QA47 .H36 1972         REFERENCE

Handbook of mathematics
QA40 .B713 2003       REFERENCE

Handbook of applied mathematics : selected results and methods
QA40.H34 1983          MAIN

Mathematics handbook for science and engineering
QA41 .R34 1999         MAIN

NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions
QA331 .N57 2010       MAIN

Oxford users' guide to mathematics
QA40 .T4813 2004      REFERENCE

Standard mathematical tables and formulae
QA47 .M315 2003      MAIN

Table of integrals, series and products
QA55 .G6613 2007      REFERENCE

Using the mathematics literature
QA41.7 .U835 2004     MAIN

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries: definitions and basic explanations

Specialized encyclopedia and dictionaries provide an excellent starting point for research, including both definitions and brief overviews.

The concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics
QA5 .C53 2009         REFERENCE  ONLINE

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
QA5 .W45 2003        REFERENCE

Dictionary of mathematics terms
QA5 .D69 2009         REFERENCE

A Dictionary of Statistics
QA276.14 .U67 2008   ONLINE

A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units
QC82                         ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
QA5 .T34 2005         REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
QA11 .E665 2001      REFERENCE

The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics
QA5 .F35 2005         REFERENCE

The Princeton Companion to Mathematics
QA11.2 .P745 2008   REFERENCE

Study Aids: problems, examples, tutorials

Some problems and exercises books.

Aha! Solutions
QA63 .E74 2009     MAIN

The contest problem book VII : American Mathematics Competitions 1995-2000 contests
QA43 .R445 2006   MAIN

Sink or float? : thought problems in math and physics
QA43 .K417 2008   MAIN

MAA Problem Books Series
Various                    MAIN

Schaum's Outline Series 
Various                    MAIN

Biographies

A small sample of biographies of people involved in the discipline of Mathematics includes:

Mathematical people : profiles and interviews
QA28.M37 1985       MAIN

Mathematicians : an outer view of the inner world
QA28 .C66 2009       MAIN

A to Z of mathematicians
QA28 .M395 2005     REFERENCE

Notable women in mathematics : a biographical dictionary
QA28 .N68 1998       REFERENCE

Remarkable mathematicians : from Euler to von Neumann
QA28 .J36 2002       MAIN

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books and other items in SamCat, the library catalog.


 

More Search Options

 

Books from the Catalog

Search Reference Universe

Reference Universe logo

Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.

 

More Search Options

 

Google Books

Google Book Search   

 


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System