Skip to main content

Citing Archival Resources

Citations are required and they are a little more complicated for archival resources -- this guide is meant to help you out!

How to find a citation in Archon (online finding aids)

Archon tab for Administrative Information  To access the citation information in Archon, click on "Administrative Information" to the left.

 

Preferred citation location on archon

 

 

The collection name and repository information for each collection will be present under the heading "Preferred Citation."

What you need to gather for a good citation

To create a complete archival citation, you first need to gather the necessary components. It is important to take notes while visiting the archival repository (whether online or in person).

THE GOAL:

Bates, Sanford. "The Establishment and the Early Years of the Federal Probation System," 1950. Box 3, Folder 38. Sanford Bates Collection, THR/01/2012.s004. Sam Houston State University Special Collections, Newton Gresham Library, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX, 77341.

You will need to capture information about the type of document, the creator of the document, the collection in which you found the document, and the repository (archive) in which you found the collection. If you are visiting the archive in person, ask the librarian or archivist for help gathering this information. If you are finding archival documents online, this information will be attainable on the website. Once you have gathered the essential elements of your citation, refer to the citation style you have been assigned by your professor (MLA, Chicago, etc.) for guidance about formatting.

The first element you will need to gather is the identity of the document itself, for instance is it a letter from the Sexton Collection? If so, who created it, what page are you citing, what is the date. Capture this information when you are conducting your research so you will not have to find it twice.

For example: For my paper, I am citing a pamphlet from the Sanford Bates Collection. I found "The Establishment and the Early Years of the Federal Probation System" by Sanford Bates, 1950 March in Box 3, Folder 38.

The Document’s information:

Creator: Sanford Bates

Title: The Establishment and the Early Years of the Federal Probation System"

Date: 1950

The Collection information – found at the beginning of an online finding aid or by request in a formal archival setting.

Title of Collection: Sanford Bates Collection

Collection number: THR/01/2012.s004 (sometimes a MC number or MSS number or MS number-- this is like a call number for a manuscript collection)

Repository Information: Where is this item – what is the name and location of the archive or repository?

Repository: Sam Houston State University Special Collections, Newton Gresham Library, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX, 77341.

So- the complete citation for the article in question would be:

Bates, Sanford. "The Establishment and the Early Years of the Federal Probation System," 1950. Box 3, Folder 38. Sanford Bates Collection, THR/01/2012.s004. Sam Houston State University Special Collections, Newton Gresham Library, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX, 77341.


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System