SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services

This is intended as an introductory guide to help students of SHSU -- The Woodlands Center best utilize Newton Gresham Library's resources and services.

Introduction

SPED 6321 -- Dr. Vickie Mitchell

 

This guide is intended for use in SPED 6321, Outcomes in Behavior Interventions, taught by Dr. Mitchell. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework. 

 

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right. My hours and e-mail address are listed beneath my picture on the right. Thanks!

 

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Fall 2017's SPED 6321 taught by Dr. Mitchell. Although the guide should prove useful for other SPED 6321 courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.

Some recommended databases are available below. 

[The dissertations database is listed below due to its value as a resource to mine information. If you can find a dissertation dealing with a similar topic, which is very likely considering the size of this database, you can mine its works cited page for your own use. This can sometimes prove incredibly valuable].

APA Citations

You will be expected to utilize the APA citation styles as you complete your coursework. For introductory information and examples, please view our APA Citations guide

Also, please note that although there is not an online full-text version of the official APA guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have copies that you can use. Also, the APA has published an APA Style Guide to Electronic References that can be accessed online. This guide will provide you all the information you need when citing electronic information.

Interlibrary Services

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get your hands on virtually any article or book you need for your research, even if our library does not have access. Please check out the Interlibrary Services page for more information.

On-Site Deliver Instructions

To qualify for on-site delivery to TWC you must take NO classes in Huntsville and you must live outside of Walker County. If you meet those requisites, you can do the following to request print materials from Huntsville to be delivered at TWC.

  1. Create an ILLiad account if you have not done so before. This is separate from your SHSU account.
  2. Fill out THIS FORM to register for our distance services. (This must be done each semester)
  3. Go back to ILLiad, log into your account, and fill out the new book request form.

At this point our staff will see your request, verify your distances services registration, and deliver the materials using FedEx. Please note that the FedEx delivery may take 2-3 business days.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos




Library Catalog


Search for books and other items in SamCat:

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz's picture
Tyler Manolovitz
Contact:
936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System